Skip to content

Click Here To View Our Upcoming Events!

Our Leadership

The AABID Board comprises community leaders with expertise in a wide range of areas, including marketing, nonprofit management, retail, technology, law, and small business management. The Board meets regularly and is responsible for the organization’s strategic direction and financial health.

Property owners and merchants from the AABID corridor are eligible to serve for a two-year term. Members are elected at an annual meeting open to all stakeholders. 

Kelly Carroll,
Executive Director

Kelly Carroll became the executive director of the Atlantic Avenue BID in 2022. As the former Director of Advocacy & Community Outreach at the Historic Districts Council, she was the primary liaison to over 500 neighborhood groups in all five boroughs. Kelly was instrumental in the designation of several NYC historic districts and individual landmarks, and has won several awards for her outstanding work with communities. Kelly teaches courses at the Center for Publishing and Applied Liberal Arts at NYU SPS since 2020. She serves on the board of directors of the City Club of New York and is an advisor to the Historic Districts Council and the Art Deco Society of New York. She earned a master of science from Columbia University’s Graduate School of Architecture, Planning and Preservation.

Layla Passman,
Community Engagement Coordinator

Layla Passman is the community engagement coordinator for the BID. Layla connects with merchants and residents daily to help the community thrive. She also promotes the corridor through our newsletter, social media, and Open Streets programs. Layla studied in the school of Social and Cultural Analysis at NYU, and previously worked in media and marketing industries. 

Board of Directors

Katherine Gilman, Chair

Luca Arrigoni, Vice Chair

Sandy Balboza, Second Vice Chair

Evan Vaughan, Treasurer

Sasha Blaug, Secretary

Anuja Butala

Jack Chester

Emily Douglas

Jason Manoharan

Cassandra Marshall

Marcia Patmos

Megan Rickerson

Paul Schreiber

Non-Voting Members

Taya Mueller, Brooklyn Community Board 2

Government Officials

Emily Edwards, NYC Small Business Services

Sergey Chuprik, NYC Comptroller

Hannah Henderson-Charnow, Office of City Council Member Shahana Hanif

Taya Mueller, Brooklyn Borough President

Prahelika Gadtaula, Office of City Council Member Lincoln Restler